Local Children's Book Author, Greg R. Fishbone, says...

Sorry for Being So Bad at This

In Metablogging on May 17, 2010 at 10:00 am

I’ve been blogging since 2001, which is a very long time to keep doing something I’m not good at. Before we get to far into this reboot, I need to apologize in advance for the following deficiencies:

1. Timing, or my spectacular lack thereof. When exciting things happen, I’ll probably have no time or energy to blog about them. When I am idle enough to pop out an entry, it’ll almost certainly mean there’s nothing much to say. If I try to save up my exciting news items for a rainy day, they will very quickly become stale. I see no solution to this problem.

2. My skill-set doesn’t support journalling. Fiction writing takes planning, thoughtful deliberation, and a willingness to revise. Blog writing requires the ability to pump out a workable first draft and then just leave it alone. Some very lucky people have both sets of skills, but not me. I take way too long to draft each blog entry, and then my typing fingers immediately get all twitchy with the urge to revise, revise, revise.

3. Naval-gazing. When it comes to blogging, I don’t have a very good sense of audience. I tend to write for myself, using introspection to develop half-formed thoughts that might not mean anything to other people. And look what I’m doing right this second–I’m blogging about blogging. That’s metablogging, the dullest kind of blogging ever invented! I know that nobody else will ever want to read this, and yet I can’t force myself to stop.

4. Sporadic updates. Blogging isn’t a priority in my life and never will be. With the best of intentions I will create a schedule for regular updates knowing that it will never stick. When something needs to be cut from my day it won’t be family, friends, writing, other work, household chores, or my favorite TV shows–it’ll be the blog every time. I’m letting you know in advance that there will probably be long gaps without an entry.

I’m giving this blog thing another try because exciting things will be happening in my life and blogging is more practical than standing on a rooftop with a megaphone. If all goes well, I will have at least one book from at least one publisher under contract within the next month. And I’m up for another round of co-directorship of the annual New England SCBWI conference around this time next year.

There will be news, I will share it, and it would be nice if you could stick around and forgive my deficiencies as a blogger. Thanks.

  1. Hey Greg, good luck with the blog! The format you chose is refreshing.

    I completely relate to not having much time, and putting the blog by the wayside when life happens. But I do enjoy your point of view. So even if I’m not commenting, I’ll be reading.

    All the best!

  2. Thanks for your support, Alice. Happy to know you’re reading.

Leave a Reply

